Even Wonder Woman Sleeps In

The Wake Up Call

 

Karen!

Hey Karen?!

A voice called out in the early morning quiet. A dream? No, more of a nightmare (well not that bad but it did freak me out).

I slept in. Aghhhh, damn!

My fitness studio is located directly below my living area and the morning girls had arrived at 5:30 am as usual, calling out for me. For the first time in my professional life, I slept through it! I slept in.

I share this because I think that we all tend to ignore the signs of overwork and stress until that time something completely unexpected occurs. Headaches? Illness? General fatigue? Distracted concentration? Moodiness?

I never sleep in so that was my “wake up call.”

7tumblr_mtbdzsYwfj1rjpm4uo1_1280What’s Your Sign?

Signs of stress, overwork and/or overtraining are sneaky. You don’t realize what’s happening until it’s too late.

It’s tricky trying to sort out our own body signals, and because we’re not “whiners” we simply keep charging onward!

In this past month:

I’ve enrolled in an intense online business school. I work on lessons 24/7 (whenever I can) because I love to.

When my clientele doubled I was ecstatic. I love what I do!

When the car broke down, no problem! I can handle that!

My toothache needs a Root Canal. OK!  Make the appointment and I’ll get my checkbook!

I can handle it! Time to hit the gym! Right?

Whoa! Hold up Super Hero, take one deep breath.

 

imageThe point is we are not Wonder Woman. I know, that’s shocking! We can, however, and do, survive. What I realize today is this; we are capable, we are strong, we are mighty, but we are not indestructible.

No one is immune to “doing too much.” Watch for signs of the Wonder Woman Syndrome and slow down, prioritize, engage in life and enjoy the ride.

Have you received a big old sign from the universe lately, suggesting that you should slow down? Tell me about it!

What do you think about that?

